Blogging…

I sometimes wonder why I started blogging, and why I am still at it.  I have five blogs though, counting this one, so there must be something to it for me.

I do have a pet peeve about the blogs I do read though.  Many of the newer bloggers are going to a format where they only put an excerpt on the “front page” requiring the reader to click a link to read “the whole story”.  This is VERY irritating.  This is OK if you are doing that for RSS readers such as Bloglines, etc., to get them to actually come to your blog, but once I’m on your blog, I want to read the story you posted in one viewing, not have to click to continue.

Another thing that is getting to me is the concept that appears to be growing where you have three columns, the first two are columns of little squares of entries, again, just snippets with the click here to continue, and the third column full of advertising and junk.  VERY cluttered looking and VERY hard to read!  I leave those sites quickly.  (And they seem to be growing in leaps and bounds!)

I guess I am just old school…

Leave a Reply

